Back in the Classroom

I’m excited. I landed a summer job teaching English to high school students who are in a program intended to support first generation college students. It’s been a long time since I’ve had the opportunity to work directly with students. I get to work with students at the college level, but it’s not the same (sorry y’all. you’re all great, but it’s not the same). I also get to do research in classrooms with teachers and students which is also great, but not the same as having my own class to teach.

So I’m way excited here.

Surprisingly, I’m not nervous. I’ve never taught high school before – or even done research in high school classrooms. All my work has been at the middle school level. I got the chance to meet most of my students at an orientation a few weeks ago, and they were tall! They are definitely larger than most middle school students. They were also super sweet. They were so excited to be a part of this program and so proud of themselves for being in it (and they should be!). My little journey in teaching them starts today. So tune in as I write about my experiences and share all the ups and downs of the next six weeks of teaching!

One thought on “Back in the Classroom

Leave a Reply

