Welcome!

I am excited to start this blog and engage in what I think will be very exciting and rewarding work. This blog has two main purposes:

(a) to share and discuss current issues in literacy research and instruction as it is relevant to educators

(b) to provide insights into the work that goes on in graduate school at the doctoral level.

I struggled to decide if this blog should focus only on A or B, but in the end I realized that my life as a professor encompasses both areas. There’s no need to separate them out. Given that my work focuses on adolescents, most of the research and instruction I discuss will likely focus on that area. However, I will also be talking about broader issues in literacy that cut across age levels and contexts.

I also see this blog as a place to communicate my own research in a way that I hope will be meaningful and relevant. Too often, there is a great divide between research and practice. I want this blog to work towards diminishing that divide.

For doctoral students, I hope to provide insights into writing, research, and the tenure process. I hope to make the whole process less mysterious and more explicit about what’s involved and expected from you. Let’s get this show on the road!

Let's get this party started!
Let’s get this party started!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

